« Return to Newsletter

11th Annual Ship Repair Virtual Lego Competition

The 11th Annual VSRF Virtual LEGO Competition was held at Nauticus on March 23. The event broke all records, and was by all accounts a tremendous success. 22 teams and 162 students competed; adding in teachers, chaperones, technical advisors, judges, and volunteers, all told there were nearly 300 people in attendance!

Congratulations to our TOP 3 TEAMS

1st Place - Greenbrier Middle School, received a check for $1,500

2nd Place - AOIS Rosemont, received a check for $1,000

 3rd Place - Blair Middle School, received a check for $500 

We couldn’t have pulled this off without the generous support of our sponsors, technical advisors, judges, and volunteers.

Thank you to the SPONSORS of the 11th Annual Ship Repair Virtual LEGO Competition

BAE Systems Norfolk Ship RepairPremier Sponsor + Lunch Sponsor
Marine Hydraulics InternationalPremier Sponsor
Colonna’s ShipyardSupporting Sponsor
Lyon Shipyard, Inc.Supporting Sponsor
Metropolitan SolutionsSupporting Sponsor
Newport News ShipbuildingSupporting Sponsor
Shipyard Staffing LLCSupporting Sponsor
Tecnico CorporationSupporting Sponsor
Top Guard SecuritySupporting Sponsor
Q.E.D. Systems, Inc.Sponsor
Tidewater Association of Service Contractors (TASC) - Sponsor

Thank you to the Technical Advisors who have shared their knowledge of the ship repair industry with the competing schools.

Academy for Discovery at Lakewood - Marcia Stewart-Downing, Newport News Shipbuilding
AOIS Rosemont Middle School - Lee Scarbrow, Tecnico Corporation
Blair Middle School – Mike Varner, Newport News Shipbuilding
Booker T Washington Middle School – David Cappiello, Marine Specialty Painting
Brandon Middle School – Tracy Gregorio, G2 Ops, Inc.
Christ the King Catholic School – Raymond Wilson, BAE Systems Norfolk Ship Repair
Cradock Middle School – John Domanski and Dudley Olcott, Accurate Marine
Dozier Middle School – Cindy Walnetski, CPL Resources, Inc.
Greenbrier Middle School – Ted Ansell, Tecnico Corporation
Hunter B. Andrews – Will Prescott, Newport News Shipbuilding
Lake Taylor Middle School – Fanazo Sherrod, BAE Systems Norfolk Ship Repair
Norfolk Academy – Warren Conant and Andrew Linton, Oceaneering
Norfolk Collegiate School – Greg Skok, Serco
Norview Middle School – Bill Miller, Fairlead Integrated
Poquoson Middle School – Tim Ikner, Colfax Fluid Handling
Ruffner Academy Middle School – Jessica Galassie, Colonna’s Ship Repair
Southampton Academy – Chris Marsh, Jonathan Nichols and Nicole Wood, General Dynamics NASSCO Norfolk
Spratley Gifted Center - Lee Redditt, Tecnico Corporation
St Gregory the Great Catholic School – Joshua Horner, Newport News Shipbuilding
Toano Middle School – Adrienne Smith, Newport News Shipbuilding
Trinity Lutheran School – Cynthia Lear and Ebonie DuPree, Newport News Shipbuilding
Virginia Beach Middle School – Tom Schindler, East Coast Repair & Fabrication, Inc.

Thank you to our judges; Terry Stead, Emily Studebaker, Mike Scibelli, Larry Broach, Stella McClain, Jim Davis, Jan Pendleton, JB Davidson, Erica Rajotte, Dale Baugh, Steve Cook, William Reavis, and Todd Estes – and our volunteers – Phillip Dominicci, Sophia Edmonds, Jessica Shandy, Missy Alston, Marilyn Dorsey, and Dawn Angrisani, as well as our emcee and Chairperson, Chris Murray.

« Return to Newsletter